Oh the weather outside is frightful…

As the BBC weatherman announced last night, with an unmistakable note of glee in his voice, winter is here! This is good news for London Zoo’s penguins, British Gas and for cyclists. One of the most annoying thing about cycling is trying to find somewhere to lock your bike when out and about, even if your criteria are only that it should be vaguely safe and have some kind of street lighting so you can unlock it without dropping your keys down a manhole at the end of the evening. In summer, all the fair-weather cyclists dust down their bikes and start hogging all the bike racks, leaving me to cycle around in circles looking for somewhere to lock up, muttering under my breath. But winter – ah, winter is for the real cyclists! I love waking up and seeing frost on the window as it means I will be able to lock my bike up.

Today it is about 7 degrees: sunny but cold. This is my favourite cycling weather as it’s cold enough to put people off, but it’s not icy (not safe) and not wet (miserable). But winter cycling takes some preparation. Today I left the house wearing:

– 2 pairs of tights
– Socks
– Fur lined boots
– Thermal top
– Dress
– Cardigan
– Padded coat
– Buff headwear (www.buffwear.com)
– Fleece hat
– Enormous woolly scarf
– Ski gloves
– Helmet!

It does add additional time on to my commute but it’s well worth it to arrive being able to feel my fingers AND my toes.

Leave a Reply

