New Year’s Resolutions 2016

2016 already, huh?

Let’s recap my 2015 resolutions and see how I did:

  1. Achieve the following running goals:
    • 5k: sub 25mins – nope
    • 10k: sub 50mins – nope
    • Half marathon: sub 2hrs – nope
  2. Do at least 20 parkruns, ideally seeing an improvement over the year – nope, I managed 12, with fairly consistent times
  3. Compete in at least 3 triathlons – yes! Three completed: sprint, olympic and half ironman
  4. Keep all 10 toenails intact – yes! It was a close run thing and my feet are terribly ugly but all toenails are present and correct
  5. More cycle touring! More adventures! – certainly lots of adventures but unfortunately no cycle touring
  6. Try something new – maybe orienteering? – I tried lots of new things (new job, new city, new boyfriend) and some of them worked out but some of them didn’t… those that didn’t, I fixed and tried something else new, meaning another new job starting soon!
  7. After totally nailing quite a few moves in swing dancing last year (I’m now quite happy with my swingout) I want to go social dancing more and then not be shy when I get there! – I gave this a go (even going social dancing the day of a half marathon) but once I moved city I found it hard to go at all as I was always working
  8. Be bold, be brave! – at times, I think I probably was

I’ve been thinking about my 2016 goals, and I think I’ve narrowed it down to the below – you may notice some similarities with last year…

[NB. I know that new year’s resolutions are a bit silly, and that making resolutions at this time of year doesn’t make them any more effective. And I know that setting myself arbitrary goals isn’t necessarily the path to happiness (from experience, I know I use (failure to achieve) these goals as a stick to beat myself with). And of course I know that every year throws up a load of stuff you can’t predict in the first few days of the year. So this is more a general framework for the year than anything too tangible.]

  1. Do more running (at least 5 half marathons and maybe a marathon), faster times obvs.
  2. 20 parkruns.
  3. At least three triathlons.
  4. Ride my TT bike instead of being scared of it.
  5. Go cycle touring!
  6. Move in with my boyfriend (OMG PROPER ADULT TIME).
  7. See my friends and family more instead of hiding away when things are tough.
  8. Would like to lose some weight/be a bit more toned.
  9. Be bolder, be braver…
Leave a Reply

